wondering if there are any loopholes for dual citizenship

Over 25 million Italians have emigrated between 1861 and 1960 with a migration boom between 1871 and 1915 when over 13,5 million emigrants left the country for European and overseas destinations.
lizm

wondering if there are any loopholes for dual citizenship

Postby lizm » 30 Aug 2008, 16:51

hi all! sorry this is long, but it's been on my heart for a long time so i'm just going to run it by!

i've had this idea of dual citizenship on my heart and mind for the past several years, and it resurfaces once in a while but i've never been serious about trying to pursue it...most recently i am interested as i'm trying to obtain a visa for an internship i have over there (truly a frustrating disaster so far).

my grandfather is of italian descent, and that fueled the fire of my love for anything italian. i studied abroad in italy from 06-07 and fell in love with it all. i studied italian all throughout college and just recently graduated with a double major, one of which is italian. despite its imperfections, you can't help but love that country!

basically, my story is this. my maternal great-grandfather was an italian citizen from calabria, and when he was around 17 he came to the US to work on the railroad. he went back and forth, and eventually married my italian great-grandmother, with whom he then had several children, continuing to go back and forth from italy to the US. eventually he brought my great-grandmother over with the children they had at that point, and everyone was then in the US. from what the records i have show, it looks like (sooo frustratingly so) my great-grandfather was naturalized a mere year before my maternal grandfather was born. from what i understand, this obviously means that my grandfather automatically lost his italian citizenship, or, really, never had it.