So many ?s! First, names and residency in Italy?

Over 25 million Italians have emigrated between 1861 and 1960 with a migration boom between 1871 and 1915 when over 13,5 million emigrants left the country for European and overseas destinations.
dovelette

So many ?s! First, names and residency in Italy?

Postby dovelette » 26 May 2010, 10:58

I'm very new to all of this but my Great grandparents on my mother's side were from Italy. I would like to apply for Italian citizenship and understand all the documents I will need. However, it doesn't appear that anyone in my family can give me any information about my great grandparents.

I know my great grandfather was (in America) Thomas Tarantelli. The 1930 census says that he was born about 1875 in Italy and was not naturalized at that time. It also says he arrived in America in 1905.

My great grandmother was (in America) Mary Tarantelli (no idea of her maiden name) and that she was born in 1885 and was also not naturalized in 1930, and also arrived in either 1905 or 1908.

Alright so...there is a "Ludovico Tarantelli" arriving in 1904 from Pratola. There is no record of any female "Tarantelli" arriving any time from 1900 to 1912.

Am I to assume this is my great grandfather? Should I go ahead and try to order birth certificates etc for him or what is my next step?

TIA for all the help I am sure you guys will give in the next months. I should also mention I am a peace corps volunteer living in Africa, so this is an especially difficult process for me!!!

johnnyonthespot
Master
Master

Re: So many ?s! First, names and residency in Italy?

Postby johnnyonthespot » 26 May 2010, 11:50

Two things about Italian women:

1) Then and now, their maiden name remains their legal name for life. No matter how many times she marries, an Italian woman's passport, driver's license, identity card, credit cards, etc - all are issued in her maiden name.