Naturalization record needed if applying in ITALY?

Over 25 million Italians have emigrated between 1861 and 1960 with a migration boom between 1871 and 1915 when over 13,5 million emigrants left the country for European and overseas destinations.
hollyolly7
Rookie
Rookie

Naturalization record needed if applying in ITALY?

Postby hollyolly7 » 13 Jul 2010, 12:52

I've been going crazy trying to find my GGF naturalization record. 3 years have passed and no luck (I have also given up a handful of times though..lol).
Do I even need to show it if I am a resident in Italy??? It isn't even listed. This never crossed my mind until now!

johnnyonthespot
Master
Master

Re: Naturalization record needed if applying in ITALY?

Postby johnnyonthespot » 13 Jul 2010, 13:01

If you are applying jus sanguinis - based on blood right - then the basis of everything is proving that your Italian-ancestor (your GGF) was still Italian at the time that his son (?) was born. To do so, you either require proof that he naturalized after son's birth, or that he never naturalized at all.

Whether applying in the US, Italy, or Timbuktu, you are going to have to provide this proof.

Where does your research stand on this issue? Have you contacted USCIS and the National Archives yet?
Carmine

My hobby is finding things. Having found most of my own, I am happy to help others find theirs. PM me! :)

hollyolly7
Rookie
Rookie

Postby hollyolly7 » 13 Jul 2010, 13:18

I read that information on this forum. Someone wrote that naturalization papers aren't required if you have resided legally in Italy for three years. I closed the link now but someone had written it about 5 or 6 pages back.