court order

Over 25 million Italians have emigrated between 1861 and 1960 with a migration boom between 1871 and 1915 when over 13,5 million emigrants left the country for European and overseas destinations.
mindean

court order

Postby mindean » 22 Feb 2011, 01:09

I am from upstate New York and working on getting a dual american/ Italian citizenship. I need my grandparents birth, death and marriage certificates from vital records, but i can only do this through a court order. How do I go about getting a court order? I am presently a student studying away from New York and hope hiring an expensive lawyer is not my only option.

kontessa
Elite
Elite

Re: court order

Postby kontessa » 22 Feb 2011, 09:22

Do you know if anyone had power of attorney for your GP's, or were executor of their wills? Search on the various forums for posts from others trying to obtain records from NYS - a variety of creative methods have been used . I used the less popular, more expensive court order route. :lol:

mindean

Postby mindean » 22 Feb 2011, 16:55

Thank you for the quick reply! Yes, my aunt is the power of attorney/ executor of estate for my grandparents. I just found out that she indeed can order my GM birth certificate, GF death certificate and their marriage certificate, but only the parents of my GF can order his birth certificate- so it looks like I need a court order.

Also, I need both of my GGF & GGM death certificates. I was first under the impression that my great-aunt (the daughter of my GGF and GGM) could order the death certificates, but I am now having doubts... do I need a court order for these as well?

I found this link that outlines the steps needed to get a court order: http://www.ehow.com/how_5503599_obtain- ... -york.html. Does anyone know what kind of timeframe I can expect for this?

kontessa
Elite
Elite

Postby kontessa » 22 Feb 2011, 17:15