Dual Citizenship Question: Name Issue of Non-Italian Ancestor

Over 25 million Italians have emigrated between 1861 and 1960 with a migration boom between 1871 and 1915 when over 13,5 million emigrants left the country for European and overseas destinations.
miucci

Dual Citizenship Question: Name Issue of Non-Italian Ancestor

Postby miucci » 20 Jun 2016, 14:47

Hello All,

I am just beginning my long quest towards requesting citizenship via jus sanguinis.

My great-grandfather, Alterio, immigrated and married my great-grandmother "Matilda". I am eligible through Alterio since he and Matilda had my grandfather, Edward, before he renounced/naturalized. My problem is that Matilda is a complicated case...

Her birth record has her name as "Lillie Elizabeth".. this is the only record with that name. Additionally, it has her birthday as 7/20/1904 whereas everything else she has 7/21/1904. To complicate matters even further, her birth father (and mothers husband) died when she was little.. and when her mother remarried she unofficially assumed her step-fathers last name. THANKFULLY her birth last name (Bickel) is on her marriage license and birth certificate of my grandfather.

I am awaiting official marriage & death certificates to verify, but the SSDI shows her as Matilda at the time of her passing. Additionally, my great-grandfather's naturalization petition/approval shows her as Matilda.

Will they deny my petition because of this? Not to sound mean to my late great-grandmother... but she's not important in this process! Her husband is the one I'm claiming citizenship through! And why would they let her use a not legal name?!?!?!

mler
Master
Master

Re: Dual Citizenship Question: Name Issue of Non-Italian Ancestor

Postby mler » 20 Jun 2016, 18:44

Some consulates may make things difficult, but as you correctly note, your great grandmother is in the non-Italian line and should not affect your eligibility. You shouldn't have any major problems.

sceaminmonkey
Master