New here - looking for history (aren't we all? :)

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
mterrian

New here - looking for history (aren't we all? :)

Postby mterrian » 13 Oct 2008, 03:56

Hello everyone,

I'm a decendent of the DiCicco/Soave group of families in Sant'Elia Fiumerapido. My grandfather emigrated in 1905 and eventually settled in Detroit. Still sifting through many documents and having a lot of fun with it. What a wonderful place you have here!

I'm a writer, and am trying to gather materials to try to piece together what it would have been like to live in a town like Sant'Elia at the turn of the (last) century, when my grandfather left it as a young boy. I'm intensely curious about what it must have looked, smelled, felt like then.

I've tried a few web sites, looked at photos, and searched for books, but I'm really not turning up very much that helps me learn about what peoples' lives were like, what the economy was based on, anything that would help give me a "snapshot" of my family in their ancestral town.

If you were looking for such things.......where would you look?

Big thanks in advance for any ideas -- anything at all would help! :D

Margaret

PeterTimber
Master
Master

Re: New here - looking for history (aren't we all? :)

Postby PeterTimber » 13 Oct 2008, 13:47

Dear Margaret I know exactly how you feel about wanting to know, feel, hear,interpret the history of your family town of origin having gone thru that many years ago and appreciate hearing this from you about this.

you do not say if you can read Italian but surmising that you might want to go thru many websites on Sant'Elia Fiumerapido in any event you can go to www.tiscali.it and just put in the name of the town, Sant' EliaFiumerapido and review the websites.