Perrazio

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
adifresco
Rookie
Rookie

Perrazio

Postby adifresco » 08 Jan 2009, 05:36

My great-grandmother's name was Sabina DiFresco (maiden name Perrazio). I'm not certain about the spelling... I've seen it spelled Perrazio, Perazio, Perriazio, and Perrazzio in different records. Up until this point, I assumed that it was the more common surname Perazzo, but I was wrong.

She was born 11 Jun 1905 in New York and died 11 May 1981 in South Carolina.

I have been doing genealogy research for a few years now, and thought I had her branch of the family figured out. I recently discovered that I had the wrong family all along. There was another Sabina Perazzo roughly the same age who I had mistaken for my great-grandmother.

I made this post here in 2007 before I discovered the mistake:
Surname Perazzo?

Since then, I found a copy of my great-grandmother's obituary from 1981. It says "Sabina P. DiFresco, 75, of 2227 E. First St. Brooklyn, N.Y., died Monday. She was visiting her son, John J. DiFresco of Greenville. Also surviving are a daughter, Mrs. George Serbia of Orange, Calif.; son, James J. DiFresco of Brooklyn, N.Y.; sisters, Josephine Stalknecht of Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., and Mildred Newman of Brooklyn, N.Y.; brothers Dominick Torpe of Stony Brook, N.Y., and George Torpe of Manhasset, N.Y."

My father recognized these names, but doesn't know anything else. My grandfather and everyone else mentioned in this obituary have passed away, except for my grandfather's sister. I am waiting to hear back from her.

I have managed to find these census records which I am now fairly certain are the correct family:

1920 U.S. Federal Census - New York
New York County, Manhattan Assembly District 23, Enumeration District 1501, page 10

Perriazio, James - head, age 39, immigrated in 1902, naturalized in 1908, born in Italy