Rizzato/Marchioro in Lugo di Vicenza/Zugliano

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
nokkeow

Rizzato/Marchioro in Lugo di Vicenza/Zugliano

Postby nokkeow » 16 May 2009, 21:51

Hello, I am new to researching my Italian ancestors. I have been able to learn a lot about my great grandfather and great grandmother Luigi and Lucia Marchioro (Lucia's maiden name was Rizzato) from the time they arrived at Ellis Island, but little of their history in Italy. Perhaps someone can help me search some on line records from Italy and point me in the right direction. I would be deeply greatful for any help.

Luigi was born on 14 Oct 1872 (according to his WW I draft card). I believe he was born in either Zugliano or Lugi di Vicenza. Lucia was born on 16 Oct 1874, I believe in Lugi di Vicenza (but it may have been 1872 or 1873). As late as 1909 Lucia had a sister in Lugo di Vicenza named Emilia (last name/marital status unclear). Luigi came to Ellis Island alone on 18 Dec 1901 (passenger lists calls him Marchiore), and came again with Lucia and a 6 year old named Giuseppe on 3 Sept 1903. Lucia returned to Ellis Island in 1909 with a 6 year old girl named Benvenuta. They lived in Iron Belt, Wisconsin, and several more children were born in Wisconsin, Michigan and Montana. I have had good luck locating them in the 1910, 1920 and 1930 censuses (1910 lists last name as Marchisio, and 1930 census is under Lucy Marchiori), and have ordered death certificates, naturalization records, etc that have yet to arrive. But I haven't come up with anything that says with any certainty more than they were born in Italy. I have no information on when or where they were married, other than the 1901 Ellis Island passenger list has Luigi as being married, and apprently with a wife and 4 year old son back in Italy.