Why multiple marriage records?

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
greenweedz

Why multiple marriage records?

Postby greenweedz » 24 Jun 2009, 19:07

I am a newbie happily doing research on my Italian ancestors, who emigrated to the U.S. in the late 19th century, and quickly put down roots. I've found that the New York City online records are a wealth of information. However I appear to have found duplicate marriage records for two family members. First, in Manhattan, Lucia Dammaturco (my Nana!) appears to have married Michele D'Alessio (Grandpa) on both June 10 1897, certificate 9089, and on June 27 1897, certificate 10151. The only difference is that Grandpa's first name is spelled "Michaele" on the June 10 one. I am 100% certain that these two records refer to the same couple. Why would it appear twice?

Also in Manhattan, Angiolisa Damaturco married Nunzio Palladino on OCt 21 1900, certificate 17846, but Annie Damaturco married Nunzio Palladino on Aug 23 1900, certificate 14513. I'm really confused by this one. Is it one marriage recorded twice, with Annie being Angiolisa's nickname? Is it two sisters marrying two guys with the same name? Or did Annie die and Nunzio married her sister instead within a few months?

Is there any way I can find this out or will I just have to bite the bullet, pay my money and order copies of the original documents? And if I do will the original documents answer my questions (e.g. will they have bride's and groom's birthdates, parents, etc)?

(The thing about the Damaturcos is that the paterfamilas, Gregorio Damaturco and papa of Lucia and Annie/Angiolisa [as well as of Rose and Pasquale], seems to the one and only original Damaturco, so I'm sure that all the Damaturcos I find are part of this family.)

Thanks for any help!

Barbara

Eleven
Veteran
Veteran

Re: Why multiple marriage records?