Sanzaro, LaRossa, Rizzo, DiPietro

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
NSanzaro

Sanzaro, LaRossa, Rizzo, DiPietro

Post by NSanzaro »

Hi! I am new to this & looking for some direction.

I am trying to trace my family history back to Italy, Sortino in Siracusa specifically. The family history is a little hard to follow in places as my grandparents travelled to Asmara in Africa before migrating to Australia. I have got as far as their migration records into Australia, but have no other information.

I am after any information on the following people:

Gaetano Sanzaro (my Nonno) born in Sortino (i believe) on 11th September 1912.

Gaetano had 3 siblings, Grazia Sanzaro, Concetta Sanzaro & Vittorio Sanzaro. Vittorio also ended up in Australia, but I have been told Grazia & Concetta stayed somewhere in Siracusa...

Gaetano's father was Concetto Sanzaro, and mother Maria Santo. No idea on birth dates or places.

Cesarea Sanzaro (my Nonna) born in Sortino also, her maiden name was Rizzo. Cesarea was born 16th October 1917 to her mother who was also called Cesarea or Cesarina (maiden name LaRosa) & her father Santo Rizzo. Cesarea's mother died of Cholera around 1920 when she was 3 or 4 & she was raised by her Aunt Maria LaRosa. I beleive Maria LaRosa moved in with Santo Rizzo but am unsure of the nature of that relationship as Maria LaRosa went on to have a son Sebastiano DiPietro to an unknown man but maybe never married?

Cesarea & Gaetano were married in Sortino (though i have no record of that either) & soon after had a son called Concetto (who also migrated to Australia & is now in his 70's).