Olliso--name changed from Aliseo, possibly

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
suz1154
Rookie
Rookie

Olliso--name changed from Aliseo, possibly

Postby suz1154 » 20 Aug 2009, 21:08

Hello. I'm a newbie...both to this site and to genealogy in general. My husband, on his father's side of the family, is Italian. Actually, Sicilian. Nobody in his family ever talked much about their roots on either side. What we've heard about our Sicilian ancestors, is that they came to America from Palermo. Their surname was changed after they came to America by either great grandfather or grandfather, or both. It is now Olliso. They supposedly arrived in America by way of New Orleans, but I have not been able to find a passenger list for our grandfather or great grandfather. According to the 1920 census Grandfather arrived in 1901.

I was able to find both a marriage license application and a passenger list for Antonina Rosa Aliseo. The passenger list notes that she was going to meet up with her father Aliseo Francesco, and her marriage license was signed (she was under age, giving her permission to marry) by Francesco Olliso. That, along with a couple other documents referring to Francesco Aliseo or Olliso is how I've determined that the family name was most likely Aliseo before it was changed.

I would like any advice on how to verify the Olliso/Aliseo connection. Or is that enough verification? Also, I would like any help or advice on how to go about tracing the family back any further, when going to Sicily or hiring a professional genealogist is not within my budget. I have paid to join an on-line ancestry site (for a while), but there is very little Italian/Sicilian information on the site to go back any farther.