Family name Rabezzana

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
Obelix
Rookie
Rookie

Family name Rabezzana

Postby Obelix » 15 Jan 2010, 05:45

Hi, I''m a first time poster here, having just discovered this site.
my grandmother was Ivonna Rabezzana, born Cairo Egypt of Italian parents in 1900.

I have no knowledge of that side of the family except that the surname Rabezzana is common to north west Italy and I have an old photo showing my grandmother visiting unknown friends or relatives in the Lago Mucrone (near Biella, Piedmont) area in about 1955 -56.

Can anyone suggest where I can make further inquiry?

I intend to visit the area in May this year to see some of my ancestor's homeland and I could take the opportunity to check Registries, Parish records etc., if I knew who to contact and where to look.

johnnyonthespot
Master
Master

Re: Family name Rabezzana

Postby johnnyonthespot » 15 Jan 2010, 12:50

This is really a long-shot, but I would go to this Egyptian government website http://www.egypt.gov.eg/general/contact_us.aspx, click on "English" at the top left, set Destination: E-Government and Service Type: Submit Complaint or Inquery.

I would then ask, "My grandmother was Ivonna Rabezzana, born Cairo Egypt of Italian parents in 1900. Is it possible to obtain a copy of her birth certificate in English or multilingual format?"

How long were they in Egypt? Was she born there during a short visit, or were her parents actually residing in Egypt?

By the way, Lago del Mucrone is a lake in Provincia di Biella in Regione Piemonte. Provincia di Biella contains 82 comuni, so you are going to have to narrow things down a bit before you have any hope of locating records (which are kept at the comune-level in Italy).

I think an Eygyptian birth certificate is your best bet on the hope that it will list her parent's place of birth or residence.
Carmine