Royal blood in Calabria? Please help.

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
Carolann

Royal blood in Calabria? Please help.

Postby Carolann » 13 Jul 2010, 02:53

I am a first generation Italian American and as knowledgeable as I am about relatives names, birthdates etc.. there has been a family secret kept for decades. I am a college student and currently studying in Italy and will be for the next few weeks. My famiy origins (maternally) are Calabrese (Cosenza, in fact), from Fiumefreddo. Recently it has gotten out that my maternal great- grandfather was in fact adopted and his birth mother has been rumored to be a princess (or of some type of royal blood). His birthname is Eugenio, family name (to which he was adopted) Passolo. I do not have his exact birthdate on me but I am guessing he was born in the 1910's, possibly even earlier, as my grandmother was born in 1934 and is one of the youngest of 11. Any leads would be greatly appreciated, as Im in Italy currently,and are collaborating with mentors on research.

Grazie!

MaurizioPerrone
Rookie
Rookie

Re: Royal blood in Calabria? Please help.

Postby MaurizioPerrone » 13 Jul 2010, 14:24

I think probably your great-grandfather was a trovatello, a foundling baby born illegitimate. The records in Italy are all very complete, so to find informations about your great-grandfather, you must simply write to the comune where he was born and request l'estratto dell'atto di nascita (birth act). This document will tell you some facts about his birth. If you are in Italy, perhaps you can go to the town and ask the official for permissions to consult the birth act of you great-grandfather?

PeterTimber
Master
Master

Postby PeterTimber » 13 Jul 2010, 14:32

If your in Italy and collaborating with mentors on your research what do you seek from any of us here in this forum? Please be specific. =Peter=
~Peter~