Unabel to decipher my Great Grandmother's Name - Help

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
oath101

Unabel to decipher my Great Grandmother's Name - Help

Postby oath101 » 16 Apr 2011, 22:36

Hello everyone, I'm new to this and I was told this would be the best place to find answers about my ancestors. I'm working on my geneology. I just received my grandparents marriage certificate from NY - Pietro Tumminello and Josephine Tramontana. Josephine's side I've been able to find her father in the Ellis Island website. Pietro is a mystery. He was born May 25, 1894 in New York and his father's name was Giuseppe and his mother Antonia Giambolva(can't figure out the last 2 letters). To the best of my knowledge they were from Sicily. I've been told if my great grandparents on my grandfather's side are Italian born I could obtain my Italian Citizenship. Can someone help me decipher my great grandmother's surname on Pietro's side in this MC? I just realize I can't upload the MC. Does someone know? Thanks... Olga Amalia

Squigy
Master
Master

Re: Unabel to decipher my Great Grandmother's Name - Help

Postby Squigy » 16 Apr 2011, 22:43

If you upload the certificate, we may be able to better help you. Otherwise, we'd just be guessing.

Try using sites like Flickr (requires a Yahoo account) or Photobucket.
My Italian surnames:

Caserta: Maietta, Rossano, Tessitore, Negro, Peluso, Musone

Campobasso: D'Andrea, Barile

Catanzaro: Fiorelli/Fiorillo, Romito

johnnyonthespot
Master
Master

Postby johnnyonthespot » 16 Apr 2011, 22:57

Or http://postimage.org which requires no account, no sign in, and has no advertising pop-ups or otherwise. :D
Carmine

My hobby is finding things. Having found most of my own, I am happy to help others find theirs. PM me! :)

adelfio
Master
Master

Postby adelfio » 16 Apr 2011, 23:09