Searching for information about my grandmother

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
Cristina319

Searching for information about my grandmother

Postby Cristina319 » 23 Oct 2011, 23:58

Good afternoon.
I'm a writer and memoirist, and I'm in the process or doing research for a book about my maternal grandmother and her journey to the US.

My grandparents were born in Pettorano sul Gizio, Abruzzo, and I've been there twice to see what information I could find out. I've located my grandfather's house and relatives on his side. On Gram's side, I've found very little.

This is what I know: My grandmother was born Maria Liberata Crugnale on 2 May, 1885, in the area of Pettorano known as ValleLarga. Her father was Antonio Crugnale, and her mother died giving birth. Gram was the youngest of 5 and had a sister Teresa and brothers Matteo and Pietro. I don't know the other names. I also don't know her real mother's name. I know that her Aunt Marguerita Ventresca adopted and raised Gram.

Her brothers arranged the marriage with my grandfather, Donato Berarducci, and they were supposedly married by proxy in the town church before Gram left for the States. They remarried in Ohio once she arrived.

Here's what I can't find out but would love to know (if anyone could lead me in any direction):

1- Who was my great-grandmother. When I was in Pettorano the first time, the clerk told me it was Marguerita Ventresca. I know that she was Gram's aunt, not mother. The clerk said that since she took Gram since Gram's mother died, Zia might have been listed as the mother officially.

2- Were my grandparents actually married by proxy? How do I find that out? The same clerk told me that no records of a marriage between the two exists.

When we went back this year, the clerk was quite short with me. She asked me why it was so important since it happened so long ago.