Looking for help with the Newark, NY Fischette family.

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
xxkaylamae93

Looking for help with the Newark, NY Fischette family.

Postby xxkaylamae93 » 24 Aug 2016, 23:03

Hello! I've been looking into my boyfriend's family tree for a few months now; I started my own in January so I am pretty new to geneology. I always get stuck when it comes to the homeland. I am stuck on nearly all branches of my own tree (not italian)! My boyfriend's is going a little better, but I am very confused. I don't know where or how to look! So, here is what I have:

The Fischette family is from St. Angelo Lombardi. I have great-grandfather Vito Fischette (b Nov 10, 1898 d 1966) to Antonio Fischette and Theresa Pizzirusso. Siblings are William, Anthony, Anna Marro, and Concetta Minio. The brothers came to America, sisters stayed in Italy. I do not know about the parents. Vito arrived in America October 4, 1920. His wife (Angeline b May 8 1899) joined him July 2, 1922. They ended up in Newark, New York.

I do have some confusion about the surname. Recently I contacted a man with the surname of Celso. As it turned out, Celso's father grew up on the same street as Vito and they immigrated together. The man remembers Vito, they had dinner parties often. I am waiting to hear again from him.

Celso told me that Vito's wife's maiden name was Fuschetto. She did list an Anthony Fuschetto in her immigration papers as her father in the 'someone from home who knows you' slot. But. Both Vito and Angeline are listed as Fuschetto on the passenger list to New York. Even though they arrived two years apart. And Vito's father is listed as Antonio in his obituary. So, how do I straighten that out?

My only sources for this info are Celso, the passenger lists, and Vito's obituary. Ancestry spat out Angeline's birthday so I am not positive in it.