Family in Ascoli Piceno

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
Qiuitaly

Family in Ascoli Piceno

Postby Qiuitaly » 05 Jul 2006, 12:57

Greets to All:

I'm fairly new to Italian Geneology. I'm trying to locate an obituary for one who passed away approximately 3 years ago.
The question I have is:

Do I write to the Town Officals, a local newspaper, Archdiosese or the library for the copy of the obituary since their death is more recent?

This person was also a Priest and grew up in Offida or Maltignano. It's difficult to communicate with any of the relatives because of the language barrier. This particular person has not ever been to the US so it seems all my information has to come directly from Italy. Unfortunately, my Italian is not that well either. : ) Thankfully, I went through the forums and found some more links to look through in hopes of finding an address to write to.

Also, how much money would be appropriate to send along with the request? I do have Euro currency, so that wouldn't be a problem.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions or input. It is most appreciated.

ricbru
V.I.P.
V.I.P.

Re: Family in Ascoli Piceno

Postby ricbru » 05 Jul 2006, 14:20

Hello,
since the obituary in the newspaper in Italy costs a lot of money, no all the people put obituary of relative on the newspaper.
What kind of information do you want to get from the obituary?
If you want to know his parents names, just request to the civil record office where he was born his birth certificate, or if you want to know the name of his brothers and sister request to the same office the historical family certificate, or if you want to know his date of death, request a death certificate.
I hope it helps,bye Riccardo

Qiuitaly

Postby Qiuitaly » 05 Jul 2006, 23:26

Hi Riccardo: