gioia del colle, bari

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
bela0911

gioia del colle, bari

Postby bela0911 » 16 Apr 2007, 01:32

Help please. I am very new to this. My grandfather came from Bari. His name was Cosimo Soranno. I have an address from a letter his cousin wrote to him sometime in the early 1900's. The return address on the letter was Gioia Del Colle, Goutauelle, Bari from M. Giordano Rosanna. His father's name was Francis, mother Natalie, sister Marguerite, brothers - John, Pete, and Tom. Charles, as he was called in the US came here when he was about 18 or 19. Settled in Athens, NY. Another family from the same area in italy settled in Athens also - last name Rizzi.

Any help anywhere to get me started on this search will be appreciated. I did try ellis island and can't find anything. Also have searched some sites but come up empty on surname suranno. Thanks.

VaDeb
V.I.P.
V.I.P.

Re: gioia del colle, bari

Postby VaDeb » 16 Apr 2007, 01:57

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Do any of these look possible?

http://stevemorse.org/goulnik/match1.ph ... &dwpdone=1

possibly the 3rd on the list.

I prefer this site to search Ellis Island:
http://www.jewishgen.org/databases/EIDB/ellis.html

If you don't see your grandfather on the list above, give us his year of birth and we will try and find him on a census.

Debbie

bela0911

Postby bela0911 » 16 Apr 2007, 17:25

Debbie,