opinions, please

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
luvmynonnie
Rookie
Rookie

opinions, please

Postby luvmynonnie » 22 Jun 2007, 03:11

:D
First of all..this is an awesome website! I have been reading here for a few weeks and just joined today.

I am a newbie at researching my Italian heritage but it is so exciting to trace my roots.

My grandparents (maternal side) were both born in Italy. Pretty certain they were born in the province of Casacontitella. Not sure if I spelled that correctly. They both came to the states. I have found (and what a thrill it was) the ship's manifest for my grandmother but not for my grandfather.
They came separately...first my grandfather (don't know the year) and then my grandmother came in 1920 with their daughter.
Grandmother: Giovina Rapposelli (maiden name) born 1883
Grandfather: Antonio D'Angelo born 1887

My mother told me that my grandfather came to the US twice and she thinks he went to Canada and became a citizen? Not really sure of that because her memory isn't the best. The reason my grandmother came later is because of the war (WW1) and apparently she couldn't leave Italy...the story in the family is that gramma and grampa were separated for nine years before she joined him here in the states.

I also found the ship's manifest for when my uncle (my grandmother's brother) came to the states. This is the part where I need your expert *eyes* to see if anyone can read the line where it says: who they are going to stay with. I can read that my uncle is going to stay with his brother-in-law Antonio D'Angelo (my grandfather) but there is also written *cousin* Donato ??????????????? I cannot read the last name of Donato and I am not sure that info belongs with my uncles. Can't tell if the Donato info is for the next passenger.