Any info?

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
hkusait

Any info?

Postby hkusait » 09 Jul 2007, 15:06

Hello,

This is my first time posting anything on this website. I am new to the whole genealogy thing, and this is actually the first time I've been interested in learning about my Italian heritage. My Grandmother was born in New York, and her Mother died when she was about 2. Her Father was born in Italy, and he lived until 1971. My Grandmother is getting older now, (she's 75), and she is planning to go to Italy next summer for the first time. I am also planning to make the trip, and I'm hoping to find out any information about her Father, and whether we have any distant relatives still over there. Anyone who could give me pointers or hints on how to go about getting any information about my Great Grandfather would be greatly appreciated. Here is the information about him that I do know...

Name: Vincenzo Cherubino
Birthday: July 5, 1886
Died: November 1, 1971 (in Pleasantville, NY)
Originally from Reggio Calabria (I don't know the town/comune)
Married Jenny Zaffino/Zuffino? (Born in Bridgeport, CT I think: She died on Feb 13, 1934/35?)

I don't know when my Great Grandfather came over, but it was before 1930. Again, any help is greatly appreciated. I want my Grandmother to have a trip that she will remeber for the rest of her life, and going to her Father's hometown would just be spectacular. Thanks in advance.

ricbru
V.I.P.
V.I.P.

Re: Any info?

Postby ricbru » 09 Jul 2007, 15:20

Hello,
this could be him

Vincenzo Cherubino from Anoia (province of Reggio Calabria)

http://www.ellisisland.org/search/shipM ... 2519090690

Since you have his date of birth, you can request his birth record to

Comune
Ufficio di Stato Civile
Piazza Cananzi
CAP 89020
Anoia (RC)
Italy

you can also find his military record and military draft card to