HELP with Pirozzo (Pirozzi) Family Search

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
turnerbk

HELP with Pirozzo (Pirozzi) Family Search

Postby turnerbk » 24 Jul 2007, 14:43

I'm new to this and I was pleased to find alot of information on the Ellis Island Search site and Manifest pages.

This is what I know so far.

Liberato (Liborato) Pirozzo (Pirozzi) and his wife Marie Vangone arrived in New York (My Great GrandParents) June 26, 1894. With Daughter Carmela (no age listed), I believe she is only a couple of months old.

As some point, my Great GrandMother Marie Vangone returns to Boscoreale Italy. She then returns to New York on June 22, 1898 with Daughter Carmela, age - 5 and son Domenico (My Grandfather) age -3. (She had to be pregnant prior to her return to Italy, both Carmela and Domenico were born in Italy, how can I get birth certificates on them?) The Ellis Island manifest shows they are going to live with Husband/Father Liberato Pirozzo. I can't make out the street address on the manifest. It says 14th Street something?

I found a 1920 Census in New York with Liberato age - 53 and Marie age - 48, Dominic age 24 and 4 more children born in New York.

This is where I get confused and have questions I can't seem to find the answer to.

1 - I can't find Carmela Pirozzi. My Mother never heard her father speak of a sister Carmela. She doesn't show on the 1920 Census where she would be age 25. I can only conclude that she died betweeh 1889-1920 or she got married. I checked 1910 Federal Census and I can't find any of the family members. I have check death certificates and marriage certificates but I come up blank. I have checked this through Ancestry.Com and I can't figure out where to turn next. Can anyone help?

2 - On the 1920 Census it shows Manhattan Assembly District 20, New York, New York. How do I find out where in New York this actually is?