How do I find my G x 3 grandfathers roots in Italy?

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
debbie58

How do I find my G x 3 grandfathers roots in Italy?

Postby debbie58 » 06 Dec 2007, 18:56

Hi,

My G x 3 Grandfatehr was Giovanni Basilio VERONELLI born circa 1778 in Italy. The first record I've found for him is in London 1798 when he married. I have a good record of his life in London & of his children. Giovanni was a Tailor by trade. Some of his children later used the surname TAYLOR rather than their family name.

But how do I find WHERE in Italy he came from? I'm guessing it may have been the Como region...but it's only a guess after various stabs at research on the net. I have no idea where to even begin looking.

Any advice would be very welcome.

Debbie

suanj
V.I.P.
V.I.P.

Re: How do I find my G x 3 grandfathers roots in Italy?

Postby suanj » 06 Dec 2007, 20:50

for Como area, it are available on line the baptism records from 1830 to 1866; however it are in this years 14 Veronelli baptized... maybe someone of this name could be sound familiar in some way:

nome: Anastasio Antonio Ferdinando Veronelli
data battesimo: 15-04-1842
luogo battesimo: parrocchia: San Fedele

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

nome: Andrea Isidoro Michele Enrico Veronelli
data battesimo: 04-04-1850

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

nome: Bartolomeo Veronelli
data battesimo: 13-12-1866

nome: Carlo Giovanni Bartolomeo Veronelli
data battesimo: 24-07-1864

nome: Carlo Natale Sperindio Veronelli
data battesimo: 17-12-1865

nome: Ferdinando Pietro Mamete Veronelli
data battesimo: 18-08-1835
luogo battesimo: parrocchia: San Donnino

nome: Francesca Emilia Caterina Veronelli
data battesimo: 25-11-1840

nome: Gabriele Luigi Giuseppe Veronelli
data battesimo: 18-03-1839