Finding info on birth/death records

Do you need information about a certain town or village in Italy, or do you need help to find it on a map?
This forum will give you a helping hand.
11 posts • Page 1 of 1

Finding info on birth/death records

Postby mackie13624 » 05 Dec 2004, 18:08

Hi everyone,

I am very new at this so it is possible that the answer is right in front of my face. I have been working backwards like suggested and am now to the point of trying to find info on my GGP. I have names and the location, Locana, Italy. Would the best step be to check into the Family Research Lib. or to write to ????? in the town they are from? If it is going directly to Italy I am at a loss as to who and where I write too.

Thanks,
:D Gina
mackie13624

Re: Finding info on birth/death records

Postby ptimber » 05 Dec 2004, 18:42

There are no microfilm for Locanarovincia Torino so you have no choice but to write directly to the Uffico Di Stato Civile in Locana and send form request letter in italian to that office. The service is free but a self addressed envelope and $5.00 (postal coupons or even cash if you wish). You need the fullname and at least the approximate year of birth and the document you wish. For birth (estratto di nascita is the big one), marriage and death you can obtain dox for individuals. For Family Certificate (Certificato di Stato di Famiglia which covers all heads of household (father) and all members of that immediate family will give you spouse, brothers and sisters. Go to www.circolocalabrese.org for the form letters. Peter
ptimber
Master
Master

Postby 1owl » 05 Dec 2004, 19:32

Gina, you do have a choice because film you can order does exist at the Family Research Library.

www.familysearch.org

Baptisms, marriages, deaths, church census

Italy, Torino, Locana - Church records

Titles
Registri ecclesiastici, 1612-1899  Chiesa cattolica. Parrocchia di Locana (Torino)
1owl

Postby ptimber » 05 Dec 2004, 20:19