Looking for a place North/East Italy, maybe around...

Do you need information about a certain town or village in Italy, or do you need help to find it on a map?
This forum will give you a helping hand.
mauricioom
Rookie
Rookie

Newbie here, i have a question on italo-slovenian genealogy!

Postby mauricioom » 12 Aug 2006, 06:36

Hi!
I'm Mauricio Olivares, i've been conducting a search for my ancesters and i found a man, the great grandfather of my great grandfather, that draw my attention to this part of the world, Italy and Slovenia.

His full name, (taken from his marriage record in Spain, and 'cause of that some names are probabbly misspeled) is Joahn Joseph María Wolfgang Mucha von Benistein Bolfienstein Hochenthal Rosenfeld Petazzi Heizi Visini und Montabello Edler von Sehwaifinuk Desdfoil Röm Reichs Priter Freyherr von Loque Prelose Rizmange stiack und San Abas, the name he took when he moved to Spain around 1800 was Wolfgango de Mucha... I've found that this person was born in a place called Carginal or Corgniel (probably misspeled also!) in the county of Görz in what it used to be the Trieste Bishopry (or is it called Parish?) that belonged to the Austrian Empire in 1758... the problem is that i don't know where is the town of Carginal in present day! if it even exists today! or how is it called now! or where is it now: Slovenia or Italy!...

What i do know is that no matter in what country of those two he was born his lastnames denote german and italian ascend, maybe other countries too, and he once clamed in some letter to the spanish king tha he was from a really important family from Carniola, which i think now is Ljubljana!..

I'd like you, if you want, to help me out in finding this place he was born in and if you can tell me something about those surnames and titles (i only know about "Edler" and "Freyherr")...

I thank you in advance...
Mauricio Olivares

suanj
V.I.P.
V.I.P.

Re: Any info on this aristochratic family...