Search found 219 matches

by sforza
22 Oct 2023, 21:42
Forum: Genetic genealogy
Topic: Bari DNA
Replies: 11
Views: 932

Re: Bari DNA

Yeah, I'm not making judgements about where it came from. Just noting that it appears to have density in Scotland. That said, if the haplogroup were at high levels among Romans (who are not genetically equivalent to Sicilians) you would expect more density L-1066 in Italians. Anyway, the most recent...
by sforza
22 Oct 2023, 20:10

I am not an expert and would recommend consulting with administrators of the haplogroup projects on FTDNA. That said, this is what I do know: R1b-M269 is the haplogroup of half the men in Europe. The question for M-269's is defining their subclade or terminal SNP (their branch on the tree). My pater...
by sforza
15 Oct 2023, 17:56

You can do geographical Y chromosome analysis. My direct paternal line is from Bari. We are on FTDNA and did the big-Y 500 several years ago so I got a very specific haplogroup on the y tree. I plugged this into a very cool tool on the ysec site (HRAS), which maps haplogroups. The density of haplogr...
by sforza
14 Oct 2023, 19:16
Forum: Italian Genealogy
Topic: Help with reading ship manifest
Replies: 4
Views: 275

Re: Help with reading ship manifest

@BethPunzo - are you researching Zeuli's? I am as well and would be happy to compare notes and share any information. If so, feel free to DM me.
by sforza
14 Sep 2023, 19:54
Topic: Milano/Lombardia research - Sconfietti - Bianchi family
Replies: 0
Views: 5749

Milano/Lombardia research - Sconfietti - Bianchi family

Hello, I'm seeking advice on next steps in researching some of my Milanese ancestry. There seem to be fewer online records compared to other places I've researched. Here is the line: -Cesare Sconfietti, born in Milano in 1872, died in Rochester, NY in 1936. I located the birth certificate. -Cesare's...
by sforza
11 Jun 2018, 12:01
Topic: Records from il Brefotrofio di Parma
Replies: 1
Views: 1090