Search found 11 matches

by aroberts
25 Aug 2011, 19:36
Forum: Italian Genealogy
Topic: Giovanni Carano lookup
Replies: 10
Views: 1657

Re: Giovanni Carano lookup

I am a bit of a newbie at this. I have found Giovanni's mother named as Festra Poster, but that is the only information I can find. I'm going to request the birth certificate on Giovanni, in your experience is there anything else I can do to learn more about his parents?
by aroberts
25 Aug 2011, 19:30
Forum: Emigration, Immigration, Naturalization and Italian citizenship
Topic: Citizenship and serving in WWI?
Replies: 7
Views: 1325

Re: Citizenship and serving in WWI?

The notations on the manifest are difficult to make out; I might be seeing "Claims USC (United States Citizen?) - No Proof". If this is the case and Sabatino and Loreto did not have proof of their Ohio births with them when they went to Italy (presumably with their mother, Lucia), then Sa...
by aroberts
25 Aug 2011, 19:14

If you think the above information is correct, then your Giovanni was probably born in Carovilli, Province Isernia, Molise Region. You can write directly to the comune to request his birth record (about 1878). Address: Ufficio dello Stato Civile Via Costa Ospedale, 1 86083 Carovilli (IS) ITALY Writ...
by aroberts
25 Aug 2011, 19:08

Re: Citizenship and serving in WWI?

Any chance this is your Sabatino? Aged 22, traveling with brother Loreto (16), leaving behind mother Lucia in Carovilli (Provincia di Isernia, Regione di Molise, Southern Italy), final destination Wellsville, OH to meet up with father Michele. Sabatino's place of birth is given as Youngstown, OH an...
by aroberts
25 Aug 2011, 18:56

There is a family tree on Ancestry.com for Giovanni Carano... Is that your tree? Owner listed as "juviemom" http://trees.ancestry.com/tree/9398285/person/1889274741 No source records there, but this information is listed... born 1878 in Italy died 1958 Wife Marie Putature (1874-1954) Pare...
by aroberts
25 Aug 2011, 18:02