Obtaining Italian Passport and Citizenship through Marriage

Over 25 million Italians have emigrated between 1861 and 1960 with a migration boom between 1871 and 1915 when over 13,5 million emigrants left the country for European and overseas destinations.
Kaj17

Obtaining Italian Passport and Citizenship through Marriage

Post by Kaj17 »

I am a college student that has traveled to many countries in the world, thanks to my mother being a flight attendent. I am currently a student at University of Southern California and am studying international business. I am sure that my future holds a lot more traveling to come and I know that it would be a great convenience having more than one passport besides my American one.

Although I do not have any Italian blood in me, I do want to eventually obtain EU citizenship and passport in case I eventually work there. Knowing that Italy is one of the easier countries in the EU to do so, I was thinking of marrying someone just for citizenship, nothing platonic.

In fact, I was also thinking of paying/arranging a marriage with either a Brazilian or Argentine woman that could possibly give me both citizenship as well as the Italian one(assuming that she gotten Italian citizenship through bloodline by the time I marry her). Kill 2 birds with 1 stone. I have been pondering this question for some time and have finally come to this former to seek advice as to how plausible is this idea.

Also, I am planning on studying abroad spring semester in Italy in a year. If I were married to someone with Italian citizenship by then, could I count the months I study abroad as having residency in Italy? Also, I speak nearly fluent Italian if that helps in gaining Italian citizenship in some way.
ricbru
V.I.P.
V.I.P.

Re: Obtaining Italian Passport and Citizenship through Marri

Post by ricbru »