Surnames: Chiappisi and DeNicola from Sciacca area

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
cchaotic2006

Surnames: Chiappisi and DeNicola from Sciacca area

Post by cchaotic2006 » 07 Oct 2008, 23:12

Hi,
I am new to this, and speak no Italian. Looking for Chiappisi and DeNicola families from the Sciacca area. How do I find records, understand them, etc. Thanks

PeterTimber
Master
Master

Re: Surnames: Chiappisi and DeNicola from Sciacca area

Post by PeterTimber » 07 Oct 2008, 23:19

Go to www.angelfire.com/ok3/pearlsofwisdom which is an english website on doing your own genealogy at your own pace. If you run into any problems get back to us. =Peter=

PeterTimber
Master
Master

Post by PeterTimber » 07 Oct 2008, 23:23

Postscript: there is an excellet book which you may also wish to purchase for your own library or biorrow fromyour library. It is titled Italian Genealogical records by Trafford R. Cole. It isd an easy read and has fotos of documents with translations.=Peter=

wldspirit
Staff
Staff

Post by wldspirit » 08 Oct 2008, 11:44

Have you completed all US research on the family?
We can help with US records if you need something specific.
Otherwise, per Peter's instructions, researching from microfilm is the
best way to go. Once you have exhausted that resource it then becomes neccesary to write to the town of origin.
Let us know how we can help.
wldspirit

The book recommended by Peter is the best, very informative and well worth the money.

"Cambiano i suonatori ma la musica è sempre quella."

cchaotic2006

Post by cchaotic2006 » 04 Jan 2017, 15:32

Update and help request: