Trying to understand living and immigration patterens

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
NOLAGenalogy

Trying to understand living and immigration patterens

Post by NOLAGenalogy »

Hello Everyone!

I'm a bit new to the Italian aspect of research, but am very intermediate in genealogy as a whole.

I am researching a family by the name of Guarino in New Orleans, La. I have located several of the standard records, such as census, obits etc. My problem however, seems to be the VAST majority with the same name.

I've done a lot of research on Italians in NOLA, and have learned a lot from here also, but would like help with clarification of a few things if I may?? :) I understand here in NOLA that various groups from Italy actually stayed seperate from those not of their "villiage" or city and pretty much stayed together in one part of an area. ( I.E. Northern Italians stayed over by the docks here, while Scilians lived in the St. Roch area) I find this very interesting...as other immigrant groups didn't do so.

I have located the majority of the family I am looking for, but am trying to determine the generation born abt 1860, arriving about 1875-1905, and a pattern of who/what/where? they would have gone to when first arriving....

I am trying to understand how such a concentration of people in one area of town, with the same exact last name..who all seemed to name their kids with the same exact name..who 15 years apart marry women with the same maiden name, cannot be related somehow. If the Second generation married His cousin this would all make sense.

Can someone help me sort this a bit??

Thank you!!

Dawn
vj
Master
Master

Re: Trying to understand living and immigration patterens

Post by vj »

Hello Dawn,
Welcome to the Forum :D
While you are mostly interested in New Orleans, this article from the forum's archive may help to get you started.