CAFARELLI/CAFARELLA Birth Records from Laurenzana, Potenza

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
lcafarel
Veteran
Veteran

CAFARELLI/CAFARELLA Birth Records from Laurenzana, Potenza

Post by lcafarel »

If anyone is interested, I have just finished transcribing all CAFARELLIS and CAFARELLAS with their registry numbers listed in the 1866-1910 Indice Annuale Nascite and Indice Annuale Matrimoni from Laurenzana, Potenza, Basilicata. If you are searching for family with these surnames, send me a private message with your email address, and I can either search the list for you or send it along.

I'm just beginning to search the Atti for the matching entries. If you're looking for Cafarellis or Cafarellas in the province of Caserta, Campania, I'm also searching records for towns in that province.
anerio

Re: CAFARELLI/CAFARELLA Birth Records from Laurenzana, Poten

Post by anerio »

Both of these names and other related ones are probably from the same roots..Cafa or Cafar... meaning "Infidel" in Arabic and Italian dialect. My interest is in just how my branch evolved from the others...Or how did they evolve from ours!
The funny thing is, the Parco Caffarella outside Rome was the home property of the Caffarelli, but the main monument in the park was referred to as La Cafarella...the last is my mother's name.
We are from Salina in the Aeolians, but have roots on the mainland. Some in my family went to Calabria from the islands in the 19th C but came originally from either there, Rome or Campania in the 16th century. Do you have any sense of how the relationship works between the names...which descended from which ... and do you think we are related in traceable times? Check out my blogs...

http://cafarella-cincotta.blogspot.com
http://cincotta-cafarella.blogspot.com
http://cafarella-cincotta-cucinare.blogspot.com