Sciortino, Geloso/Geluso, Giammona, DiGiovanna

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
ck76

Sciortino, Geloso/Geluso, Giammona, DiGiovanna

Post by ck76 »

Hello all,

I'm new to Italian genealogy and thought I'd try this. I'm working on my girlfriend's ancestry and her father's side is 100% Sicilian. The families I'm working on are as follows:

Salvatore Geloso and Rose Giammona of Giardinello. Their children that I've found are Giussepe b.1882 (who remained in Giardinello), Francisco b.1883, Anna b.1884, Santa b.1889, Giovanni b.1891, and Cristofolo b.1895. In Cristofolo's American death notice in 1953 it lists a brother and 2 sisters living in Italy. If Giussepe remained in Italy then I'm missing 2 daughters. Salvatore came to America to visit his son Giovanni in 1921 and that ship log lists his age as 66. His wife Rose also visited in 1921 listing age 63. They both list their son Giussepe as their closest family in Italy and list him in Giardinello. All of their other children came to Grand Rapids Michigan USA and their death records are accounted for. I find an online family tree listing a sister of Rose named Antonina Giammona b. 1849 in Capaci.

Cristofolo used the name Geluso and married Lena DiGiovanna who was born to Calogero DiGiovanna and Grazia Scimonelli. Calogero was born in 1868 and Grazia about 1886. They landed in New York before moving to Grand Rapids Michigan USA and then Calogero went to Illinois where he was murdered in 1931. They were both from Sicilia but I haven't found which town yet. I did find a ship record that I think is the correct Calogero coming to Brooklyn New York USA in 1907. The town he lists looks like "S. Margherita".