Giannadrea in Italy

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
MichaelSackman

Giannadrea in Italy

Post by MichaelSackman »

Hi All,

I am new to all this forum thing so please excuse me if I make any etiquette blunders.

I would be grateful if anyone can help me trace any Italian side ancestry of my grandparents who came to the UK from Italy in approx 1902. My grandfather was Michele Giannadrea/Giannadreia (spelt both ways on various family documents in UK) born 1876. My grandmothers's maiden name was Pasqua Lanni born 188o and I believe she was from Cervaro in the Frosinone province of Lazio but I am not sure if grandfather was from there. One of my cousins has tried writing to the mayor of Cervaro and I have tried emailing, neither of us has received a reply. Can any one help us move to the next step?

Thanks.
JohnArmellino
Master
Master

Re: Giannadrea in Italy

Post by JohnArmellino »

Your surname may have been originally spelled Giannandrea [sometimes Iannandrea]. There are concentrations of Giannandrea in Marche, Abruzzo, Puglia, and Rome. However, there is also a small concentration in Lazio, in the immediate vicinity of Cervaro. Go to http://www.gens.labo.net/it/cognomi/genera.html and type in Giannandrea to see a surname distribution map. Interestingly, according to this site there are a small number of Giannadrea in the same vicinity.