Surname Damms

Are you looking for an Italian surname? Do you need more information about your family heritage?
This is the right place to start your genealogy search.
taranchoola

Surname Damms

Post by taranchoola »

Hi all,
I would be most grateful if anyone could help me find any information on the surname Damms.
I have searched the internet but to no avail and although I will be visiting my City Library this week I am at a loss where to start as the information I have been given about my ancestors is quite thin.

What I have been told so far is My GT.GT Grandparents came over to live in Birmingham, England around the turn of the 20th Century. They settled down in the 'Italian Quarter' which is known as Bella Brum and lived on Upper Trinity Street.
From what I have been told they came from Rome near the Vatican City and their names are George and Gracie/Gracey Damms.
I can find nothing on the surname at all and being a novice I keep hitting walls.
Any information at all on the surname would be very much appreciated.
johnlabarbera
Veteran
Veteran

Re: Surname Damms

Post by johnlabarbera »

I have Demma in my family but not Damms are you sure about spelling?
johnlabarbera
Veteran
Veteran

Post by johnlabarbera »

http://www.familysearch.org/

try this free website great for beginners
taranchoola

Post by taranchoola »

Thanks for replying John, I have saved that link to my favourites.
I managed to find my grandads birth details online and his mother is definatley on it as Damms (although he was sure it was Dammes) it was his grandparents that came over from Italy.
Looking on that site you gave me and another I have come across I have found there were quite a few Damms in the area my Ancestors lived, I found a George Damms whose birthdate would fit in but the rest of the household didn't, neither did his birthplace.
That is all I have managed to find so far.
Thanks once again.
johnlabarbera
Veteran
Veteran

Post by johnlabarbera »